Gallery

Strawberry & Pimms Tiramisu on the lawn


When I was a little girl, my Mum discovered Tiramisu. It became the new favourite family desert. My Mum is famous for her deserts. People ask her to bring her deserts to their dinner parties. There was one occasion, when she dropped her famous home-made pavlova on the drive on the way to my sister’s house. The birds descended and she turned up to my sister’s house empty handed. I thought my sister was going to send her home, so visible was her dismay.

However, me and my big sis Jo (the same sis as the one in the pavlova story) dislike coffee with a passion and so my Mum used to make us our own version of Tiramisu with orange liqueur. I have since come up with my own recipe and it is quite delightful, even if I do say so myself.  As far as I can see online, I am the only person in the whole-wide world to have created this recipe. I do hope that means I have copyright, and that someone, soon, will offer me my own TV programme, Rachel Khoo stylee (she is my new black. Dare I say it, she is my new Nigella) as I think there is room for a vegetarian cook on the tele. A Welsh one. Who’s name is Rachel and is me. I am rambling today. I am aware of this.

Anyway, here’s the real reason why you’re here. This recipe is a piece of cake to make. It is a pure, dreamy, British-influenced Italian summer dish packaged in a lovely vintage bowl and minus the Jubilee (If I ever see Union Jack bunting again I will weep).

-600ml pot double cream | 250g tub mascarpone | 75ml Pimms | 350ml fresh strawberry juice | 5 tbsp organic unrefined golden caster sugar | 175g pack sponge fingers| One pack of fresh local strawberries | 50g chunks of dark or milk  chocolate. 

Method

  1. Put the cream, mascarpone and sugar in a large bowl. Whisk until the cream and mascarpone have completely combined and have the consistency of thickly whipped filthy cream.
  2. Get your pretty serving dish ready (you can also put them in individual ramakins or old-fashioned trifle dishes, but this takes a while longer – it does look pretty though.)
  3. Juice your strawberry’s in a juicer (not a blender) and put it in a shallow dish with the Pimms. Slice your whole strawberries into slender slithers (but not so thin that they go squidgy!)
  4.  Dip in a few sponge fingers at a time, turning for a couple of seconds  until they are nicely soaked, but definitely don’t let them get soggy.
  5. Layer these into your dish until you have used half of the biscuits, then spread over half of the creamy mixture. Layer on some of the sliced strawberries and cover the cream entirely. Using the coarse side of the grater, grate over some of the chocolate.
  6. Repeat the layers until you finish all of your strawberry and Pimms, finishing with the creamy layer.
  7. Cover and chill for a few hours or overnight. You can keep this in the fridge for up to two days, but I guarantee it won’t last that long. To serve, grate over some more chocolate and fan some strawberries, leaving the green foliage on. I like it like this anyway.
  8. Eat and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

