Gallery

Gnoc Gnoc Gnocchi on heaven’s door…


Why oh why have I waited until I am 33 years of age to make my own gnocchi? I will now make it once a month in penance. Hell no, once a week! This post is not going to be a long one, because all there is to say is I love gnocchi and I want you to love it too.

Big. Fat. Gnocchi. Love. 

Gnocchi with cream, greens and purple sprouting broccoli…

This recipe took me all of 40 minutes; from the first bubbling of some waxy red potatoes, right through to plonking these beautiful, creamy dumplings into my mouth. Many of the ingredients were bought in Roath and Riverside food markets in Cardiff and those that weren’t, were seasonal and bought locally. I urge you to visit the markets if you haven’t. I got a huge bag of purple sprouting broccoli for £2 and I’ve used it for three meals.

The gnocchi recipe was from HFW’s Veg Everyday, minus the goats cheese (I do not love goaty cheese). I also didn’t dip the gnocchi in cold water as I tend to pan-fry ready made gnocchi rather than boiling or steaming it. It might not be traditional, but I like it ever so slightly crispy…just a teeny, tiny bit of a bite.

For the gnocchi – 500g potatoes, peeled| 240g plain flour, sifted, plus extra for dusting1 free range egg, lightly beaten1 tbsp finely chopped parsley| 1tbsp chopped basil| Salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the sauce – Welsh Butter (I didn’t measure it, I used lots)| unrefined Olive Oil|Leeks|Courgettes|Purple Sprouting Broccoli| |Spring Greens|300ml double cream|Welsh mature cheddar| squeeze of lemon| Basil and Parsley to serve. 

Method – Cut the potatoes into similar-sized chunks, put into a pan, cover with  water, throw in some rock salt and bring to a boil. Simmer for 10-15 minutes, until tender, then drain. Mash the potatoes, Huw says not to mash them until they’re buttery-smooth, but I did. Transfer the mash to a bowl and as soon as it’s tepid, flour, egg and parsley and basil, so that the gnocchi has fleks of herbiness running through each delicious bite. Season generously. Using a wooden spoon or your hands, bring together to make a firm dough. Knead gently for a few minutes, then roll the dough into sausages or oval shapes about 1cm in diameter.

Meanwhile, cover a pan in butter and a dash of olive oil, fry up a leek, half a courgette, 8 purple sprouting broccoli heads and a 1/4 bag of some spring greens. Add a squeeze of lemon, plenty of black pepper, cream and Welsh cheddar. This is your sauce.

Cook the gnocchi by covering a pan in yet more Welsh butter, place them in gently, roll them around so that they are covered lightly in the butter and then rotate them until they are ever so slightly starting to tan. Whip them out, serve them up with the sauce and grate some Welsh cheddar over the top with some fresh herbs and black pepper.

Simple as. Tasty as tasty can be.

6 responses to “Gnoc Gnoc Gnocchi on heaven’s door…

  1. Rebecca LeFever

    I made gnocchi for the first time today. A little odd in texture — I think I needed more flour. I’ll have to try it again.

  2. YES! Welsh cheddar is bloody amazing. Nice post name 😀

  3. Ooh been making these since I was little but always boiled them – soft pillowy dumplings covered in a thick ragu. Will now have to try pan-frying 🙂

Leave a Reply

