Gallery

The Owl and the Pussycat went to sea in a beautiful Minty Pea-Green Soup


I never fancied the idea of Pea and Mint Soup. I imagined it would taste like the smell of mothballs. That is until I tried some in a little cafe in Edinburgh a few years ago as it was the only vegetarian option. I fell in love immediately. I tried to take my boyfriend  to this cafe when we were in Edinburgh festival this year (it used to be opposite Pleasance Courtyard?), but alas, twas not meant to be. There was a rather dull looking baguette and spud cafe and not the lovely wee cafe that served me dreamy soup two years ago. I vowed to try and re-create this now mythical soup upon our return, and here we are…

This recipe is easy peasy and hella cheap too! I’ve poshed it up a touch by making a mint and walnut pesto to drizzle over it and I’ve thrown a few toasted pumpkin seeds on. The mint is from my little garden and the onion was plucked from the ground by Keith, my boyfriend’s kind, green-fingered Pa.

Soup – 4 cloves of garlic|1 white onion|1KG pack of frozen or freshly podded peas|vegetable stock|plain/soya yoghurt|salt and black pepper|fresh mint

Pesto – handful of fresh mint|handful of walnuts|1/2 lemon juice|drizzle of unfiltered, green olive oil|1 clove garlic – whizz the ingredients up in a blender. Smooth or nutty, the choice is yours. 

Method

Fry the garlic and onions for a couple of minutes. Add the bag of peas 1.3 litres of water (with stock). Simmer for 15 minutes, add a good fat pinch of rock salt and some freshly ground black pepper and then let your blender work its magic. Return to the saucepan for five minutes and add more seasoning to taste. Add a dollop of the yoghurt, some toasted pumpkin seeds (dry fried), a little pile of pesto and a grind of pepper. Done.

One response to “The Owl and the Pussycat went to sea in a beautiful Minty Pea-Green Soup

  1. Mint is definitely growing on me. I’m going to have to try this.

Leave a Reply

