Gallery

Malteser Teasers


These little bites of loveliness are so easy to make and everyone always loves them. They are the only thing (most) of my family think I’m good for, seeing as I am the only vegetarian among many Kinchins; the rest all rampant carnivores. I take them to most family gatherings and bake (well, refrigerate) them for many birthdays. These treats are not healthy. There is not a healthy ingredient in them. They are addictive. They are filthy.

They rule…

Ingredients – 100g butter|100g milk chocolate| 3tblspn golden syrup|225g finely crushed digestive biscuits|225g maltesers

Serves: 6-8
  1. Melt together the butter, chocolate and syrup
  2. crush the biscuits with a hand blender, food mixer or bash them to bits with a rolling pin and some plastic bags.
  3. Add the crushed biscuits and the Maltesers to the melted ingredients.
  4. Mix together quickly then pour into a lined, square tin, squish down until flat and chill until set.
  5. Drizzle with some melted white chocolate – I use a wooden spoon and quickly flick the melted chocolate back and forth (see pic for example) – chop into bite size pieces.

If you don’t know the best way to melt chocolate, this is how it’s done (in my opinion) – get a saucepan, half fill with water, boil, and then place a dish on top of the pan, to make a bains-Marie. Break up the chocolate as small as you can and then melt, stirring constantly (watch it as it cab burn and dry out).

8 responses to “Malteser Teasers

  1. I like filthy, particularly in my cakes. Very good, they sound awesome. My girlfriend would absolutely adore these! Thanks for sharing the recipe, it;s incredibly simple. Awesome!

  2. Stumbled on your blog via tag surfer. These look good and I think I might like to make them. But since I’m from the USA I have no clue what “digestive biscuits” or “maltesers” are. is there a translation? I got the chocolate, butter and golden syrup part.

  3. Thank you! I should have been able to research this myself but I do appreciate that you did it for me. We call them Malt Balls here in the USA, they are a popular movie theatre snack. The Digestive Biscuits I should find in the ” exotic foriegn food ” aisle at the supermarket. Now I will just go and convert all those grams to ounces. And yes, after all this I still can’t wait to make these.

  4. I enjoyed Googling for you. I feel I have found out some new malteser facts. I’m off to bake some lemon cupcakes with buttercream icing now – from a US recipe…I’ll let you know how I get on!

Leave a Reply

